Minutes

Board of Trustees Meeting December 9, 2022

Summary of Action Items

All Board Members:

- Committee Chairs should have 2023 workplans updated in DRIVE by December 31, 2022.
- Mark your calendars SPC 23 will take place September 27-29 in Columbus at the Hilton Downtown.
- 2023 Board meetings have been established and C. Davis will send out calendar invites.

I. Introductions

II. Roll Call & Communications

Ray called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM.

Present:

E. Anderson	A. Lukacsy-Love	A. Schmidt
J. Braverman	A. Meyer	M. Schmidt
T. Davis	G. Milz	M. Sinha
M. Kim	E. Phillis	C. Thurman
K. Lieber	R. Ray	S. Vincent

<u>Absent</u>:

C. Anderson	P. Etchie	N. Martin
C. Auffrey	T. Hilde	J. McCray
T. Breidenstein	L. Hollstein	
K. Burton	K. Keough-Jurs	

III. Motion to Follow or Amend Agenda

A motion was made by Braverman and seconded by Lieber to approve the amended agenda. Motion passes.

IV. Approval of Minutes from the September 23, 2022 Board Meeting

A correction was made by Kim. He was in attendance. A motion was made by Sinha and seconded by Milz to approve the corrected minutes. Motion passes.

V. Action and Discussion Agenda

Ray suggested all board members introduce themselves.

<u>Guest Speaker – Ohio Township Association; Heidi Fought, Executive Director</u>

Ohio Township Association was formed in 1928 as a statewide organization dedicated to promoting and preserving Ohio townships and township government through educational materials, forums, and lobbying efforts.

There are 1,308 Townships in Ohio.

750 townships in Ohio have their own zoning – 200 to 250 townships fall under the County's services.

Milz mentioned he is following legislation and would like to coordinate with OTA on pushing these topics forward: HB 560 – massive need for affordable housing

C. Davis will connect Milz with Heidi Fought and these pieces of legislation. C. Davis will also send the APA report conducted by OSU students regarding Townships and Comp plans.

President's Report (Ray)

See boardbook for full report.

Because We Plan Moment – Joyce Braverman and the Van Aken District.

Outgoing board member recognition. Thank you to our outgoing board members for your dedication and service:

Joyce Braverman Kim Lieber Paul Logue Tom Breidenstein

Board meeting dates are approved. C. Davis will send out calendar invites. 2023 board meetings are as follows:

February 17 (City of Westerville)
April 14 (City of Westerville)
June 16 (Virtual)
September 29 (TBD - @ SPC23 in Columbus)
December 15 (City of Westerville)

2023 Executive Officer Nomination (Ray)

PDO: Burton nominated by Ray. Milz seconds. Motion passes. Treasurer: Lukacsy-Love by Ray. Therman seconds. Motion passes. Vice President: Kim by Ray. Braverman seconds. Motion passes. President: E. Anderson by Ray. Lieber seconds. Motion passes.

OKI Post Report (C. Davis)

See boardbook for full report.

Thurman suggested collaboration with APA Michigan.

Thurman and Sinha requested to be added to the SPC23 planning committee list.

Future SPC Schedule (C. Davis)

See boardbook for draft list.

A recommendation was made by Braverman:

2029 - Cleveland

2031 - Cincinnati

3033 - Northwest Ohio

3035 - Central Ohio

SPC23 Update (C. Davis)

The 2023 planning conference will take place at the Hilton Columbus Downtown in their new "402" tower September 27 – 29, 2023. It will be hosted by the Central Ohio section.

C. Davis mentioned a few themes that came out of the brainstorming planning committee meeting:

- Foresight
- Equity in motion
- Township/exurban/rural track

Committee Report Outs on 2023 Workplans

All section directors should update their workplans within the DRIVE file by December 16.

Legislative Committee Report (Phillis)

See boardbook for full report.

PDO Report (C. Davis on behalf of Burton)

See boardbook for full report.

Braverman believes lowering the number of required AICP years to qualify for FAICP will be a disservice to APA as they will run out of nominees as young nominees will be nominated.

Sinha mentioned that some may retire before hitting the 20-year AICP mark but qualify for FAICP.

2024 FAICP Nomination Kickoff (Ray)

See boardbook for full report. Various board members made recommendations from the list of applicable planners. (Bold selections indicate group consensus)

Braverman

Karla Chifos Pat Etchie Chris Hermann Della Rutger

C Davis

Peter Kay Thomas Lemon **Kim Burton**

Ann Schenking

Milz

Jonathan Wilker

Xinhao Wang

Ray

Chad Gibson

E. Anderson

Steve Sievers

<u>Treasurer's Report</u> (Ray)

See boardbook for full report.

A motion was made by Lieber and seconded by Sinha to accept the report. Motion passes.

Section treasurers will annually convene in February 2023 with the Treasurer.

Executive Director's Report (C. Davis)

See boardbook for full report.

Business from the floor

N/A

VI. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:55 PM.